Caregiver guilty of stealing $1M from 100-year-old

Caregiver guilty of stealing M from 100-year-old
(AP) — A former caregiver in northeast Washington state who was convicted of taking nearly $ 1 million from a Kettle Falls woman who was more than 100 years old has been sentenced to 10 years in prison. John "Herb" Friedlund was looking after Frances …
Read more on WGME

What You Really Need to Survive As a Caregiver
Let's face it: If you're a caregiver for someone with a serious illness, you're carrying around a ton of stress. Sleepless nights, physical exhaustion, irritability, feeling overwhelmed by your seemingly endless list of duties; these are just a few of …
Read more on Huffington Post (blog)

Cancer Caregiver's Share What They Wish They Had Known
One study estimates the stress of caregiving can take as many as ten years off a family caregiver's life. In order to improve the odds of a positive outcome, those who are fighting cancer need their caregivers to be prepared for the ordeal they'll both …
Read more on AXcess News

18 thoughts on “Caregiver guilty of stealing $1M from 100-year-old

    • Ceph you go girl! I know what you mean about the learning curve. We are wheat-free but try to live the stticrer gluten-free life. I figure if I’m gluten-free than I’m wheat-free for sure.It was hard learning to think wheat-free. Like I can have chicken-fried steak but I use rice flour for the coating and cornstarch to make gravy. I also found going to the internet for recipes made life easier. There are so many people out there willing to share their gluten-free journey. You can do and it can even be tasty 🙂

    • Thank you for sharing your story in this wonuerfdl book. I couldn’t put it down. My brother was diagnosed with LBD in September. He is 64 and a marathon runner. In the last 30 years he has run and finished in 170 marathons. Right now he can hardly walk. He knows that my mission right now is to find a cure for him. He is in a skilled nursing care facility and only up until recently was I able to stop crying. I know there are more tears, but for now I’m going to be strong. I have been giving him some Chinese Medicine (ganoderma lucidum) that has been around for 4,000 years that helps with dementia and the Parkinson’s like symptoms. I’m hoping this is the miracle I have been looking for. So far it seems to be helping. He is walking better and most days knows who I am instead of calling me Mommy! We are all here to help each other. It is so helpful to me to hear other people’s stories. Blessings to all who read this.

    • I think I’m the mom whose comment you ptsoed about… And, yup, I’m still in the stressful part of the learning curve! I don’t eat meat (except occasional fish and seafood), limit my dairy to cultured dairy like cheese and sour cream with very little ordinary (milk does wacky things to me)… And now no gluten. Quitting meat was very hard. I had to relearn how to cook. Limiting milk was inconvenient. It took me awhile to find out which brands of soy, rice and almond milks I liked for what purposes. But eliminating gluten is the most difficult yet. I have been aiming for 99%+ GF for her and 95%+ GF for me. I’m grateful for the support I’m finding online and am glad I’m a creative cook!My DD is a few days from 10 months old and I have no intentions of weaning her until she chooses to. I’m hoping I will be able to have a bit of gluten here and there once her rash is cleared up (she doesn’t have significant GI or behavioral effects from exposure) and that she will outgrow it. But I’m not holding my breath. So we are wheatless for the foreseeable future.

  1. Hey this is kinda of off topic on that the other hand I was
    wanting to identify if sites use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code
    with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon however have no coding experience so I wanted to lookup out solutions out
    of someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • I started radeing Elizabeth’s book on my blackberry line by line and could not put it down except for the drive home where I transferred to my ipad and read straight through. I laughed, even cried, learned a lot about a disease I knew little of and was inspired by a true love story. This truly is a must read for anyone. If dealing with dementia Elizabeth’s book will inform, and provide solice to you. It is written with wit, compassion, hindsight and foresight, and eloquence and simplicity. Dignifying Dementia is an important contribution to society and everyone, including the medical profession and services. Here is to Elizabeth for her courage and commitment during and after and for sharing this story and part of her life.

  2. There have been certain posts out there near this, I’m sure taking there reference could experience
    made this spot or article really informative. I’m not expression this post is unhealthy.
    Simply I must pronounce which that the info provided here
    was unique, simply to make it more in close proximity to complete, supporting for some other former information will figure out been really fine.
    The points you obtain the touched allow me to share actually important, thus I most certainly will spot a few of that the information here to make
    this actually great for entirely the newbie’s here.

    Tons of thanks these records. Actually helpful!

  3. Youre so awesome, man! I cant believe I missed this blog for so long.
    It is just great stuff all round. Your design, man…too amazing!

    I cant wait to read what youve got next. I love everything that youre saying and want more, more, MORE!
    Keep this up, man! It can be just too excellent.

  4. I discovered your blog site internet site via internet and appearance some of your early posts.
    Continue to keep in the great operate. I just now additional increase your Rss to my MSN
    News Reader. Seeking toward reading far more out
    of you discovering at a later date!…

  5. Good things from you, man. Ive examine your things before and youre
    just too awesome. I love what youve received here, love what youre stating and the technique you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still have the
    ability to hold it intelligent. I cant wait to read more out of you.
    This really is actually a wonderful blog.

Leave a Reply

